Heads Up!

Jack Henry came into my life not quite three years ago. A friend found him by a railroad trestle-someone had dumped him. She could not keep him so asked if I would take him. At the time I already had one dog, was not looking for another and so was not sure about this. I have to admit I was not wild about pits either–I had a well-trained, well-behaved German Shepherd and he was everything she was not. Wild. Undignified. A Clown. It took time and a lot of patience, but today I would not trade him for anything. And I will admit, I am a big champion of the breed today-they are truly tremendous dogs.

One of the things that most struck me when I first met Master Jack, was his absolutely huge head. He was still growing into his body, but his head was already adult size it seemed. Anyway, the other day, he was sitting just the right way and it reminded me of what he used to look like as a young dog.

Today’s Dog Quote: 

“When the Man waked up he said, 
‘What is Wild Dog doing here?’ 
And the Woman said, 
‘His name is not Wild Dog any more, 
but the First Friend, 
because he will be our friend 
for always and always and always.'”
 Rudyard Kipling

Image taken with iPhone and processed with Dramatic BW

For today: Heads Up!

Heads Up!

Heads Up!

8 thoughts on “Heads Up!

Arf! Arf!

Chocolatechipsblog

A family of Chocolate Labrador breeders and lovers.

Doggedly Yours... truly a dog's life.

Gavin and Wyatt tell it all.

Meg's Mutts n Stuff

A lifestyle and resource blog for pet people

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue Dog Living in Boston, Massachusetts

