Brick Wall

I was not planning on this-but as we were walking, Jack Henry decided to hop up on this brick wall and walk down it. I told him to sit and managed to get a few pictures. There were other dogs and people about, so I could not really get rid of the leash-Jack Henry is fairly dependable, but not so much that I felt I could just unhook him.

What struck me about this portrait is his ears. When I first got him, the vet who checked him out is a big fan of pit bulls. He believed Jack Henry to be the real deal-a purebred and so wanted to dock his ears which is one trademark of the breed. I liked Jack Henry’s ears and in part I wanted to keep them the way they were because I believed they would make him appear less threatening. As it is, he has enough going against him. The vet was disappointed with my decision, but I have never regretted it. Today, though looking at him, I am reminded that even though he can be a complete clown and very silly, he is at heart,  a dog of great dignity.

Good dog Jack Henry.

Today’s Dog Quote:

“To err is human, to forgive, canine.”
– Unknown

Image taken with iPhone and processed with Photo Toaster

For today: Portrait of a Breed

Jack Henry

Jack Henry

10 thoughts on “Brick Wall

Arf! Arf!

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

brandyandmoose

Living it up in Boston, MA

Dogs Are Awesome

Blog Everything Dog

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

