Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge-Week 4

Week 4 of the Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge and this week’s challenge is: Cutouts-

For those interested in learning more about the challenge hosted by JX of weliveinaflat.com and Meghan of firebonnet click here

I have to admit I struggled with this one-nothing I envisioned in my head really worked very well and I found it frustrating to work with the app Cut Me Out. Moldiv was a little easier to manage, but in trying to erase the cutout lines even Retouch was not a lot of help-so I got inventive and just bleached out the lines-perhaps cheating, but I got the effect I was looking for-in addition to Moldiv, I also used Snapseed, Pic-Tap-Go and Photo Toaster. 

Today’s Dog Quote:

“Heaven goes by favor. If it went by merit, you would stay out and your dog would go in.” 
― Mark Twain

For Today: Triple Threat

22 thoughts on “Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge-Week 4

  1. your inventing came up trumps,. Meg, and of course, I’m in love again, with Hubble….. Triple threat Sigh!! melted my heart.. (I know, doesn’t take much, I’m a terrible soft touch!! 🙂 ) xxx

    Like

  2. What if you had three hubbles in real life instead of one?? It’s really cool how you captured him with the slightly diffeerent postures/expressions. The bleaching effect works well too 😉

    Like

    • Oh my, three Hubbles?! I do no think my mind could take it 😉 Thanks so much for looking JX-looking at the image today, I feel better about it than when I originally did it-thanks for the *push* to do something different!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 4 – Cutouts |

  4. I think it turned out marvelously! I too struggled with the extra brown around the cutout of Cooper (he was against a brown couch). It’s not like I have a lot of control with my finger on the iPhone screen! But at least he’s in a cup of coffee! lol The three different poses of Hubble worked really really well for creating the image and I think the bleaching worked great. Kudos!

    Like

    • Thanks so much Meghan-I know what you mean about *control* with the iPhone-it is one of the more frustrating aspects to doing processing-I appreciate you taking the time to look and comment-thank you so much!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 5 – Light Leak Effects |

  6. Oh that is sweet! Triple threat…love it. Looks like triple the fun to me. Now I’m kinda wishing I had tried the “copy” part of the “cut-out” idea. Oh well, can still have plenty of fun now that I know how to do it. And I haven’t used Photo Toaster in a while, so will have to check it out again. Do tell me, though, exactly what you did to “bleach” out the lines. I cheated and took my final photo into Photoshop to blur the hard “cut-out” edge, but would love to know what others did. Having your subject against a solid background must have helped.

    Like

    • Thank you-I love PhotoToaster, it is the app I almost always use for my photos. I take a lot of my dog photos in a room that has strong off-white walls and natural light from windows. The dogs often sit on a piece of canvas or muslin that is close in color to the walls, so there is some uniformity in the background–it also helps when I process. For this image I used Rad Lab’s app Pic-Tap-Go and one of their filters to blow out the lines of the copies. I hope that makes sense-thanks so much for taking the time to comment-

      Like

      • Thanks so much for that info. I will check out Pic-Tap-Go and their filters. I do like the filter choices on PhotoToaster, just have not used them in awhile.

        Like

  7. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 6 – Colour Filter |

  8. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 8 – Mirroring |

  9. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 9 – Double exposures |

  10. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 11 – Text on photo | WeLiveInAFlat.com

  11. Pingback: Snappy H’appy Photo Challenge Week 12 – Mix It Up | WeLiveInAFlat.com

Arf! Arf!

brandyandmoose

Living it up in Boston, MA

Dogs Are Awesome

Blog Everything Dog

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

