Two of My Favorite Things

dogs and water-how can you go wrong?

Today’s portrait features Buddy, a 3-4 year old Newfoundland and Labrador Retriever mix. Buddy belongs to the owners of the property that I am working at this week.

The other day I went down to the dock for a break, accompanied by Buddy. He led the way and I was able to quickly catch–for me at least–an image that I think will become one of my all-time favorites. It captures for me the peace and serenity that I seek in my everyday life from two of my most favorite things in life.

Today’s dog quote:

Maybe loving dogs is a way we do penance for all the other illusions we allow ourselves and the mistakes we make because of those illusions.” 
― Dean Koontz, The Darkest Evening of the Year

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed and PhotoToaster

For today: Dog and Dock

Dog & Dock

Dog & Dock

 

20 thoughts on “Two of My Favorite Things

    • I think it is in his genes-he is a Newfie and Labrador mix so the love of water comes pretty naturally for him-though when the waves are high, you can see him being thoughtful and careful around the water-

      Like

  1. Oooh! Such a beautiful photograph Meg!! This is definitely one of my all time-favorites and will remain so for a long time. One can almost hear the breeze blowing and the water rippling! The dark grey clouds add that bit of drama to the picture. The lighting and composition are spot on.

    Like

    • Thank you Uday so much! It is one of my favorite photographs too and it was a wonderful *happy accident* in getting it. I was following Buddy onto the dock and he just stopped to look at me, like “are you coming with me or not?” I was so happy I had the iPhone camera ready to go-Thanks so much for looking-

      Like

Arf! Arf!

Meg's Mutts n Stuff

A lifestyle and resource blog for pet people

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue living it up in Boston, Massachusetts

Dogs Are Awesome

Blog Everything Dog

