Master and Commander

Jack Henry and I are quite taken with the A&E/BBC production of “Horatio Hornblower.” I find the stories as fascinating as I did when I was a kid-Jack, I am convinced, is all about the uniforms, especially the hat. So we got to work.

I had been thinking about this image for a long time, but was really stumped about what to do for boats and a hat. Finally in a true *aha* moment, I flashed on what did you do when you were a kid? You made off with Dad’s newspaper-and in this case, some dollar-store construction paper.Β 

Now I will admit that this is still not quite where I would like it-the color palette is different for me, and I am still uncomfortable when I make changes, but for a start, it will do. And Jack was truly a “Master and Commander” during the process. Lord Nelson would be proud.

Today’s Dog Quote:

He is my other eyes that can see above the clouds; my other ears that hear above the winds. He is the part of me that can reach out into the sea. . . .Β He has promised to wait for me . . . whenever . . . wherever – in case I need him. And I expect I will – as I always have. He is just my dog.
Gene Hill

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed, iColorama, Stackables, Formulas and Pic-Tap-Go

For today: Master and Commander

Master and Commander

Master and Commander

26 thoughts on “Master and Commander

    • πŸ™‚ Thank you Michael-I will say when I got that hat on him, he straightened up and looked me square in the eye-he was ready to go! I saw the Hubble sketch and I loved it-Jack Henry may command the seas, but in Hubble’s world he is Master and Commander of the Universe- πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Thank you Carol very much! Yes, I think Jack Henry would like the other dogs in the house to recognize (and respect) his *captainess” demeanor-little luck with that, though-

      and thank you for the heads up on the button-I have rechecked it and it appears to be one of those periodic WP glitches-

      Liked by 1 person

Arf! Arf!

Chocolatechipsblog

A family of Chocolate Labrador breeders and lovers.

Doggedly Yours... truly a dog's life.

Gavin and Wyatt tell it all.

Meg's Mutts n Stuff

A lifestyle and resource blog for pet people

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue Dog Living in Boston, Massachusetts

